AGU award for NCSE's Scott


Eugenie C. ScottEugenie C. Scott

Eugenie C. Scott, the former executive director of NCSE and the current chair of its Advisory Council, will receive a Presidential Citation for Science and Society from the American Geophysical Union at a reception in Washington DC on June 17, 2014. The award honors "leaders whose work has advanced understanding and appreciation of the value of Earth and space science to society." Receiving the award along with Scott will be Senator Barbara Mikulski, the longest-serving woman in the history of Congress, and Naomi Oreskes of Harvard University, the coauthor with Erik M. Conway of Merchants of Doubt (Bloosmbury 2010).

AGU's president Carol Finn was quoted in the May 27, 2014, issue of AGU's newsletter Eos as saying, "while history has shown us that scientific and societal achievements go hand in hand, but neither can be accomplished without the dedication of those who are willing to embrace the power of science and its role in informing our personal and policy decisions. Through their leadership, committment, and enthusiasm, Senator Mikulski, Dr. Oreskes, and Dr. Scott have demonstrated the crucial role science can play in protecting public health and safety, connecting humans to their environment, and promoting economic growth."