Eugenie C. Scott to receive Houdini award


Eugenie C. ScottEugenie C. ScottNCSE's executive director Eugenie C. Scott is to be inducted into the Independent Investigation Group's Houdini Hall of Honor, according to a July 20, 2013, press release from the IIG. The honor is bestowed on people who have devoted their careers to promoting scientific and critical thinking to the public. Previous recipients, whose names are displayed on a plaque, include Harry Houdini and Carl Sagan, The Amazing Randi (a member of NCSE's Advisory Council), Joe Nickell, Martin Gardner, Isaac Asimov and Ray Hyman, and Neil deGrasse Tyson.

Scott will be presented with the award at 7:00 p.m. on July 29 at the Steve Allen Theater at the Center for Inquiry – Los Angeles, 4773 Hollywood Boulevard in Los Angeles. Admission is free although donations to support the event are welcome. The Independent Investigations Group (IIG) is a group of volunteers established by James Underdown in 2000 as an adjunct to the Center for Inquiry – Los Angeles. The charter of the group is to investigate claims of the supernatural and paranormal and to disseminate the results of those investigations to the public.