Eugenie C. Scott to receive NABT award


NCSE's executive director Eugenie C. Scott is to be presented with NABT's Honorary Member Award, given to those who have attained "distinction in teaching, research, or service in the biological sciences," at the National Association of Biology Teachers convention held in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, from October 5 to October 8, 2005. Also receiving the award will be NCSE member Randy Moore, a professor of biology at the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, and until recently the editor of The American Biology Teacher. Previous recipients of the prestigious award include the Nobel-Prize-winning geneticist Hermann J. Mueller, the biologist John A. Moore, and NCSE's founder Stanley Weinberg.