You are here

Webcast: Molecular Insights into Classic Examples of Evolution

Sean CarrollSean Carroll

The annual Evolution Symposium at the National Association of Biology Teachers conference will be webcast live from 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Central) on November 5, 2010. Entitled "Molecular Insights into Classic Examples of Evolution," the symposium features four exciting speakers whose research in molecular evolution is revolutionizing our understanding of familiar and compelling examples of evolution.

Edmund "Butch" D. Brodie III of the University of Virginia will speak on "Time to change the channel: Predator-prey arms races and the evolution of toxin resistance in snakes"; Allen G. Rodrigo of the National Evolutionary Synthesis Center and Duke University will speak on "Rapidly evolving viruses: Studying molecular evolution in real time"; Hopi E. Hoekstra of Harvard University will speak on "From mice to molecules: the genetics of color adaptation"; and NCSE Supporter Sean Carroll of the University of Wisconsin, Madison and Howard Hughes Medical Institutes will speak on "How bugs get their spots: Genetic switches and the evolution of form."

Teachers and students are encouraged to tune in to all or part of the free webcast for an opportunity to hear internationally renowned researchers discuss their fascinating, cutting-edge work in molecular evolutionary biology. Classrooms all over the world will even be able to submit their questions online and have the speakers respond in real time.

To view the webcast, visit http://dukeuniversity.acrobat.com/nabt2010 at 11 am Pacific/12 pm Mountain/1 pm Central/2 pm Eastern and log in as a guest. (Note: It is suggested that groups do this in advance to test the connection and make sure you can access the site without problems. When you log in successfully you will see a "Congratulations" message. If you have problems, please contact eog@nescent.org.)

The Evolution Symposium, presented annually since 2004 at the NABT conference, is cosponsored by the American Institute of Biological Sciences and the National Evolutionary Synthesis Center. Videos of previous symposia, and collections of relevant educational resources, are available in CD form from NESCent and on-line from NESCent's website.